Monroe County included in FSA Emergency Loan Zone for Winter Storms | Business



Agricultural Services Agency Administrator Zach Ducheneau identified 36 counties in Mississippi as the primary disaster area due to winter storms earlier this year.

Producers in Adams, Amit, Attala, Benton, Bolivar, Calhoun, Carroll, Chickasaw, Choctaw, Clay, Coahoma, Copy, Covington, Franklin, Holmes, Itaamba, Jones, Lee, Lincoln, Lounds, Marshall, Monroe, Montgomery, Neshoba, Octibbeha, Panola, Pike, Pontotok, Prentiss, Simpson, Tippa, Union, Webster, Wilkinson, Winston and Yazu who suffered physical harm and damage caused by a winter storm, excessive snow, excessive ice, freezing, high winds, hail and excessive rain that occurred Feb 15-18 may be eligible for an Emergency Loan from the USDA Agricultural Services Agency (FSA).

This disaster designation allows the FSA to provide much-needed emergency loans to manufacturers recovering from disasters. Emergency loans can be used to meet a variety of rebuilding needs, including replacing basic items such as equipment or livestock, reorganizing an agricultural business, or refinancing certain debts.

Producers in neighboring Mississippi counties: Alcorn, Claiborne, DeSoto, Forrest, Grenada, Hinds, Humphries, Issakena, Jasper, Jefferson, Jefferson Davis, Kemper, Lafayette, Lamar, Lauderdale, Lawrence, Perry, Leakinson, Leflor, Leflor, Runinson, Leflor, Sharkey, Smith, Sunflower, Tallahatchee, Tate, Tishingo, Tunica, Walthall, Warren, Washington, Wayne and Yalobusha are also eligible to apply for an emergency loan.

The deadline for applying for these emergency loans is January 10, 2022.

The FMSA will review loans based on the amount of losses, available collateral and solvency.

The FSA has many complementary programs to help farmers recover from this disaster. FSA programs that do not require a declaration of a natural disaster include: Emergency Assistance Program for Livestock, Bees and Farmed Fish; Emergency conservation program; Livestock Feed Disaster Program; Livestock Compensation Program; Loans for operating and farm enterprises; and the Tree Assistance Program.


Source link